Soft "Reset" for players with bootcode 17 and earlier

Re: Soft "Reset" for players with bootcode 17 and earlier

Postby FarVoice » 16 Apr 2011, 07:18

Nothing inserted between " " is not necessary. That's right - eight spaces. While one is enough :)
ASUS O!Play R1 (amp_r12_vrtn), xTreamer Pro (amp_r12_vrt), xTreamer Prodigy (iNeXT 2.14 r2), IconBIT HDR12L (amp_r12_vrt), 3Q F425HW (xds42gl_7725_r3), MyGica A11 (mygica_m3_20121222)
User avatar
FarVoice
Администратор
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 03 Sep 2010, 01:27
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: Soft "Reset" for players with bootcode 17 and earlier

Postby eranyanay » 20 Apr 2011, 12:32

MadWhack wrote:Alright so I figured it out. For noobs like me, here's a step by step.

1. Download/Install putty (A telnet client)
2. Connect to your device using putty (you can find you device IP in setup->Network->Network Info). You should only need to enter the IP.
3. It'll ask you for a user name, type root
4. Type in the command listed in the first post, insert your device local IP in between the " symbols.
5. Turn off the device, plug in the USB stick with the FW update, turn on and wait. It takes about 2-3 minutes to install.

Voila.

FYI I used this on a Oplay R1


I wanted to change my fw on my Air R3 device, but its over 7minutes and still I see the start message "Preparing for update. It takes a few seconds",
Im afraid it takes too long. Is it going to brick? Is there anything I can do?
I tried that method after I had rev4 on my device but WIFI wasnt working properly, so I thought of downgrading it to rev3.2
at the moment..I think no-wifi is better than no-oplay...:|
eranyanay
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 19 Apr 2011, 23:46

Re: Soft "Reset" for players with bootcode 17 and earlier

Postby FarVoice » 20 Apr 2011, 15:13

to eranyanay:
maybe your flash stick is broken? Format you USB drive to FAT32 , copy image file and try reflash again through Reset button.
ASUS O!Play R1 (amp_r12_vrtn), xTreamer Pro (amp_r12_vrt), xTreamer Prodigy (iNeXT 2.14 r2), IconBIT HDR12L (amp_r12_vrt), 3Q F425HW (xds42gl_7725_r3), MyGica A11 (mygica_m3_20121222)
User avatar
FarVoice
Администратор
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 03 Sep 2010, 01:27
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: Soft "Reset" for players with bootcode 17 and earlier

Postby eranyanay » 20 Apr 2011, 15:51

Thank you for your help.
Eventually, multiple and long pressing the reset button helped and now it works again
eranyanay
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 19 Apr 2011, 23:46

Re: Soft "Reset" for players with bootcode 17 and earlier

Postby andy78 » 12 Feb 2012, 00:01

@FarVoice
Can this trick be done on Xtreamer players (Ixtreamer, XtreamerDVD, XtrPRO) ?
Xtreamer MK1 with passive cooling, Fw amp_r9 iconbit skin
andy78
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 14 Jan 2012, 14:22

Re: Soft "Reset" for players with bootcode 17 and earlier

Postby FarVoice » 12 Feb 2012, 08:36

andy78 wrote:@FarVoice
Can this trick be done on Xtreamer players (Ixtreamer, XtreamerDVD, XtrPRO) ?

Yep. It's work on any RTL players. But on xTreamers I would advise "three magic buttons" Power - 3 - home
ASUS O!Play R1 (amp_r12_vrtn), xTreamer Pro (amp_r12_vrt), xTreamer Prodigy (iNeXT 2.14 r2), IconBIT HDR12L (amp_r12_vrt), 3Q F425HW (xds42gl_7725_r3), MyGica A11 (mygica_m3_20121222)
User avatar
FarVoice
Администратор
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 03 Sep 2010, 01:27
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: Soft "Reset" for players with bootcode 17 and earlier

Postby andy78 » 12 Feb 2012, 14:06

thx FarVoice
Some people reported that AMP can not be loaded through "Power - 3 - home", while original firmware is loaded without any hassle. Is this the right cure for such an issue?
Xtreamer MK1 with passive cooling, Fw amp_r9 iconbit skin
andy78
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 14 Jan 2012, 14:22

Re: Soft "Reset" for players with bootcode 17 and earlier

Postby FarVoice » 12 Feb 2012, 14:24

andy78 wrote:thx FarVoice
Some people reported that AMP can not be loaded through "Power - 3 - home", while original firmware is loaded without any hassle. Is this the right cure for such an issue?

just remane install.img to name of original FW image. For example, on xTreamer Pro image's name is install_pro.img - see emergency firmware.
ASUS O!Play R1 (amp_r12_vrtn), xTreamer Pro (amp_r12_vrt), xTreamer Prodigy (iNeXT 2.14 r2), IconBIT HDR12L (amp_r12_vrt), 3Q F425HW (xds42gl_7725_r3), MyGica A11 (mygica_m3_20121222)
User avatar
FarVoice
Администратор
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 03 Sep 2010, 01:27
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: Soft "Reset" for players with bootcode 17 and earlier

Postby andy78 » 12 Feb 2012, 15:19

We are talking about AMP on another forum
http://hdtvpolska.com/topic/22143-xtrea ... _p__268718
Image file is changed according to xtreamer model but still the same.
Some people reported success but others have problem with the update.
May this be related to wrong bootloader? Any idea how to check bootloader?
Xtreamer MK1 with passive cooling, Fw amp_r9 iconbit skin
andy78
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 14 Jan 2012, 14:22

Re: Soft "Reset" for players with bootcode 17 and earlier

Postby FarVoice » 12 Feb 2012, 15:29

andy78 wrote:We are talking about AMP on another forum
http://hdtvpolska.com/topic/22143-xtrea ... _p__268718
Image file is changed according to xtreamer model but still the same.
Some people reported success but others have problem with the update.
May this be related to wrong bootloader? Any idea how to check bootloader?

Nop. Bootloader on all xTreamers is the same - 14
Just repeat press several times "magic buttons" as a mantra "Home - 3 - Power" and again, and again...
ASUS O!Play R1 (amp_r12_vrtn), xTreamer Pro (amp_r12_vrt), xTreamer Prodigy (iNeXT 2.14 r2), IconBIT HDR12L (amp_r12_vrt), 3Q F425HW (xds42gl_7725_r3), MyGica A11 (mygica_m3_20121222)
User avatar
FarVoice
Администратор
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 03 Sep 2010, 01:27
Location: Russia, Moscow

PreviousNext

Return to About Asus O!Play

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests