Upgrade bootcode without cable (R1/R3 and HD2 players)

Re: Upgrade bootcode without cable (R1/R3 and HD2 players)

Postby fuinha » 01 Jul 2012, 11:25

Hi!
I have HDP-R1 with bootcode 17. When I tried to upgrade bootcode (using method descriped in this post, using upgrade methoc with CANCEL) my oplay stucked at "preparing instalation, it can take few seconds...". lasted for 20 minutes. then I unplugged power cable. After reonnecting it is stll showing preparing instalation, it can take few seconds... , nothing changes, reset doesn't work. Also, I was trying to plug usb with right firmware, unplugged and plug with reset, still nothing. Brick. What can I do? Thanks in advance for any help.
fuinha
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 01 Jul 2012, 11:19

Re: Upgrade bootcode without cable (R1/R3 and HD2 players)

Postby john3voltas » 01 Jul 2012, 13:22

Somehow your nick sounds familiar.
I'm not sure if it's bricked or not but I have a couple of questions for you:
- are you sure the file you are trying to flash is a bootcode and not a regular firmware?
The bootcode filename should be HDP_R3_FW_121PAL_BOOTCODE_23.zip and you must extract it's contents to the root of a usb pendisk which you then connect to your player.
- you are using FAT on your pendisk right? Usually FAT (16 or 32) is used for safety sake. Don't use NTFS or exFAT because I'm afraid those haven't been thoroughly tested or might not even be compliant with this procedure.
- have you tried another Pendisk? Sometimes I have issues with an old 16GB pendisk. Then I use a smaller more recent one and stuff works properly.

If nothing here helps, just shout so that others come to your rescue.
Cheers
ASUS O!Play HDP-R1 (Bootcode 23)
AMP r10 (iconBIT skin)
IPTVList 1.5.0 by Hax
john3voltas
 
Posts: 457
Joined: 30 Dec 2010, 18:26
Location: Portugal

Re: Upgrade bootcode without cable (R1/R3 and HD2 players)

Postby Volker Racho » 04 Jul 2012, 18:17

hi guys, ive some general questions about this bootcode thing:

what does it actually do?
do i hafe to install it when ever i flash the player with a amp FW (of cause before that) or just once and for all?

thanks
ASUS O!Play Air (R3) @ AMP r8 HD2
Volker Racho
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 29 Jun 2012, 15:58
Location: Berlin

Re: Upgrade bootcode without cable (R1/R3 and HD2 players)

Postby john3voltas » 04 Jul 2012, 18:22

Just once and hopefully for all.
If you upgrade to bootcode 23 you will be able to install any firmware released so far.
Not sure if in the future there might be released a newer firmware that once again needs a new bootcode...
Cheers
ASUS O!Play HDP-R1 (Bootcode 23)
AMP r10 (iconBIT skin)
IPTVList 1.5.0 by Hax
john3voltas
 
Posts: 457
Joined: 30 Dec 2010, 18:26
Location: Portugal

Re: Upgrade bootcode without cable (R1/R3 and HD2 players)

Postby lbzg555 » 10 Jul 2012, 17:46

I have a question but I cant find post that explains it.

What is AMP R8 and Bootcode?

Please, I'm new to all this and just start to learn all this...

I have HD2 skin installed on my R1...
Asus HDP-R1
Using: moServices 3
Bootcode: 23
Skin: HD2
Amp: r9
lbzg555
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 14 Jun 2012, 17:00

Re: Upgrade bootcode without cable (R1/R3 and HD2 players)

Postby FarVoice » 10 Jul 2012, 21:10

lbzg555 wrote:I have a question but I cant find post that explains it.

What is AMP R8 and Bootcode?

Please, I'm new to all this and just start to learn all this...

I have HD2 skin installed on my R1...

amp_r8 is alternative firmware for uor players viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1030
Bootcode is a low base part of player's software as BIOS on computer. Check version of bootcode and if it's less than 18 - upgrade it.
ASUS O!Play R1 (amp_r12_vrtn), xTreamer Pro (amp_r12_vrt), xTreamer Prodigy (iNeXT 2.14 r2), IconBIT HDR12L (amp_r12_vrt), 3Q F425HW (xds42gl_7725_r3), MyGica A11 (mygica_m3_20121222)
User avatar
FarVoice
Администратор
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 03 Sep 2010, 01:27
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: Upgrade bootcode without cable (R1/R3 and HD2 players)

Postby lbzg555 » 10 Jul 2012, 22:01

Where can I check it? :?
Asus HDP-R1
Using: moServices 3
Bootcode: 23
Skin: HD2
Amp: r9
lbzg555
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 14 Jun 2012, 17:00

Re: Upgrade bootcode without cable (R1/R3 and HD2 players)

Postby FarVoice » 10 Jul 2012, 22:12

lbzg555 wrote:Where can I check it? :?

On oficial FW press STOP ant then PLAY buttons on player's main menu
On Hd2 goes to settings - system - version and press OK
ASUS O!Play R1 (amp_r12_vrtn), xTreamer Pro (amp_r12_vrt), xTreamer Prodigy (iNeXT 2.14 r2), IconBIT HDR12L (amp_r12_vrt), 3Q F425HW (xds42gl_7725_r3), MyGica A11 (mygica_m3_20121222)
User avatar
FarVoice
Администратор
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 03 Sep 2010, 01:27
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: Upgrade bootcode without cable (R1/R3 and HD2 players)

Postby lbzg555 » 10 Jul 2012, 22:14

Is says it is: 0001.0202.0023...is it good?
Asus HDP-R1
Using: moServices 3
Bootcode: 23
Skin: HD2
Amp: r9
lbzg555
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 14 Jun 2012, 17:00

Re: Upgrade bootcode without cable (R1/R3 and HD2 players)

Postby john3voltas » 11 Jul 2012, 04:25

lbzg555 wrote:Is says it is: 0001.0202.0023...is it good?

Yes, it is. 0023 means it is bootcode 23 which is above 18.
Cheers
ASUS O!Play HDP-R1 (Bootcode 23)
AMP r10 (iconBIT skin)
IPTVList 1.5.0 by Hax
john3voltas
 
Posts: 457
Joined: 30 Dec 2010, 18:26
Location: Portugal

PreviousNext

Return to About Asus O!Play

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest