Asus o!play HD2 Maby bricked HEEEELP

Re: Asus o!play HD2 Maby bricked HEEEELP

Postby daffydk » 12 Nov 2010, 10:06

Got it fixed Thanx FarVoice
daffydk
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 07 Nov 2010, 19:21

Re: Asus o!play HD2 Maby bricked HEEEELP

Postby sman » 30 Nov 2010, 20:26

daffydk wrote:Got it fixed Thanx FarVoice


Dafyydk

I am having the same issue which you had, can you confirm which method you used to resolve the issue? I have HD2 that currently says 'Preparing for update. It takes a few seconds.' for ever.

Thanks
sman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Nov 2010, 01:52

Re: Asus o!play HD2 Maby bricked HEEEELP

Postby FarVoice » 30 Nov 2010, 23:38

ASUS O!Play R1 (amp_r12_vrtn), xTreamer Pro (amp_r12_vrt), xTreamer Prodigy (iNeXT 2.14 r2), IconBIT HDR12L (amp_r12_vrt), 3Q F425HW (xds42gl_7725_r3), MyGica A11 (mygica_m3_20121222)
User avatar
FarVoice
Администратор
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 03 Sep 2010, 01:27
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: Asus o!play HD2 Maby bricked HEEEELP

Postby sman » 30 Nov 2010, 23:57

FarVoice wrote:Emergency recovery instructions don't helped?


Looks like you missed my response from the other thread.

==============
Hm.... I tried 01.12.04b for HD2, which worked fine and upgraded the HD2 without any issues. However when I tried 01.12.04b for R1/R3 with instruction we discussed, it stopped on the screen 'Preparing for update. It takes a few seconds.' for few minutes without any progress.

And then I tried the 'emergency recovery instructions' using the safe mode you mentioned, and it still stops at 'Preparing for update. It takes a few seconds.' screen. I tried this three times already, and still no luck. Did I brick the HD2?

I haven't done anything with the bootcode 26? Is that an issue? Look like 'daffydk' had similar issue in the past viewtopic.php?f=12&t=113, and he seem to resolved the issue some how.
==============

Thanks
sman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Nov 2010, 01:52

Re: Asus o!play HD2 Maby bricked HEEEELP

Postby FarVoice » 01 Dec 2010, 01:16

daffydk disrupted boot, had to disassemble the player and and restore bootcode via a serial cable
If you are ready to repeat his feat - to contact me GTalk:farvoice@gmail.com
but first buy a cable like a http://www.patriotmem.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3479
ASUS O!Play R1 (amp_r12_vrtn), xTreamer Pro (amp_r12_vrt), xTreamer Prodigy (iNeXT 2.14 r2), IconBIT HDR12L (amp_r12_vrt), 3Q F425HW (xds42gl_7725_r3), MyGica A11 (mygica_m3_20121222)
User avatar
FarVoice
Администратор
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 03 Sep 2010, 01:27
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: Asus o!play HD2 Maby bricked HEEEELP

Postby hugphot » 03 Dec 2010, 00:16

First, let me say just how helpful I've found this forum to be in getting this far :D

I also have a possibly bricked HD2 with the 'Preparing for update. It takes a few seconds' screen. No attempt at resetting will work so I've ended up connecting to the serial port with a usb to TTL adaptor cable. I've managed to get connected using both Hyperterminal and Putty but after the initial connection, I can't type any commands into the terminal window. Here is a copy of what I see:

ÿ
?hello world!
5280 wai5t280 waiA[HDMI]: Set I2C Speed = 100 kHz
[HDMI]: Chk_HotPlug() TV is not connected.
[HDMI]: Read_EDID abort, HDMI cable plug off.
[HDMI]: TV is not connected.
Logo Change to #0
Change to PAL system (0x67f7686b)

REALTEK ROM Monitor, Revision 0001.0203.0026.
Copyright (c) Realtek Semiconductor Corp. - All Rights Reserved.

For a list of available commands, type 'help'.

Compilation time /version= Aug 26 2010 17:25:18 /0001.0203.0026
MAC address = 48.5b.39.e1.ce.d3
Processor Company ID/options = 0x01 (MIPS Technologies, Inc.) / 0x00
Processor ID/revision = 0x93 / 0x78
Endianness = Little
Flash memory size = 512 MByte
SDRAM size = 128 MByte
First free SDRAM address = 0x800fcc00

USB slave cable not detected
Press 'ESC' to Monitor mode
Signature( ) error! Entering rescue linux...
Logo Change to #5
Rescue kernel in FLASH, total size = 0xf6413

seg.1 addr 0xa0a05a50, size = 0xf6413

seg.2 addr 0x0, size = 0x0
copy rescue0: from a0a05a50 to 81000000, len = f6413
decompressing rescue: from 81000000 to 80100000: size = f6413

Decoding error = 1
lzma finished

decompess Rescue using LZMA error!!
Realtek>


I'm now stuck - any help will be most appreciated.

Thanks
hugphot
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 02 Dec 2010, 23:57

Re: Asus o!play HD2 Maby bricked HEEEELP

Postby FarVoice » 03 Dec 2010, 02:18

Your bootcode is corrupt . Reflash it. See viewtopic.php?f=12&t=78&start=0
I added bootcode 26 for HD2
ASUS O!Play R1 (amp_r12_vrtn), xTreamer Pro (amp_r12_vrt), xTreamer Prodigy (iNeXT 2.14 r2), IconBIT HDR12L (amp_r12_vrt), 3Q F425HW (xds42gl_7725_r3), MyGica A11 (mygica_m3_20121222)
User avatar
FarVoice
Администратор
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 03 Sep 2010, 01:27
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: Asus o!play HD2 Maby bricked HEEEELP

Postby hugphot » 03 Dec 2010, 03:20

Thanks FarVoice - I've tried without success. How can I type or paste the commands mentioned on the page that you linked to - the console window won't allow me to type anything? Is this normal? I get the feeling that the box is freezing up but am hoping that I'm missing something....? I've tried using Hyperterminal 'paste to host' menu option too but this won't work either.

Thanks
hugphot
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 02 Dec 2010, 23:57

Re: Asus o!play HD2 Maby bricked HEEEELP

Postby FarVoice » 03 Dec 2010, 14:53

Run HyperTerminal. Сheck connection. Сonnection properties: speed 115200, Data bits 8, Stop bits 1, parity None, Flow control - none. The last - important! Open Hyperterminal session.
Turn off player (unplug power), press ESC and hold, insert the power cord
in Huperterminal session you should get the following:
Code: Select all
REALTEK ROM Monitor, Revision 0001.0203.0026.
Copyright (c) Realtek Semiconductor Corp. - All Rights Reserved.

For a list of available commands, type 'help'.

Compilation time /version= Aug 26 2010 17:25:18 /0001.0203.0026
MAC address = 48.5b.39.e1.ce.d3
Processor Company ID/options = 0x01 (MIPS Technologies, Inc.) / 0x00
Processor ID/revision = 0x93 / 0x78
Endianness = Little
Flash memory size = 512 MByte
SDRAM size = 128 MByte
First free SDRAM address = 0x800fcc00

Realtek>

then you can type any commands
ASUS O!Play R1 (amp_r12_vrtn), xTreamer Pro (amp_r12_vrt), xTreamer Prodigy (iNeXT 2.14 r2), IconBIT HDR12L (amp_r12_vrt), 3Q F425HW (xds42gl_7725_r3), MyGica A11 (mygica_m3_20121222)
User avatar
FarVoice
Администратор
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 03 Sep 2010, 01:27
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: Asus o!play HD2 Maby bricked HEEEELP

Postby hugphot » 03 Dec 2010, 21:04

Thanks again for your help FarVoice - I was thinking this morning that it didn't make sense so, I checked the wiring and found that the Tx wire had come out of the connector. A quick repair with a soldering iron and everything works as it should, my bootloader is now 026 and I'm running this firmware: viewtopic.php?f=12&t=183

Thanks :D
hugphot
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 02 Dec 2010, 23:57

PreviousNext

Return to About Asus O!Play

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests